kristyheadshotKristy Lopez

The Claire Flanagan Award

The Claire Flanagan Award (covers 2018/2019 school year)

Each year the Council for Art Education (CFAE) recognizes state Youth Art Month Programs. Youth Art Month (YAM) state chairpersons and their state art education associations are eligible for national recognition and financial awards for their participation in Youth Art Month and their impact on K-12 visual art education. Outstanding Youth Art Month programs are recognized at NAEA based on each state’s digital presentation documenting the state’s Youth Art Month activities.

The top presentation is recognized with the Claire Flanagan award, honoring the woman who originally imagined the idea of Youth Art Month over 50 years ago.

The Claire Flanagan award winner for 2018/2019 is New Jersey
Karen Mannino and Kristy Lopez, Co-chairpersons

To be eligible for this honor, each state submitted documentation of its Youth Art Month programs and activities, noting Observances, Funding, Participation, Community Support, Special Materials, and Proclamations. Recipients will be recognized during the 2020 National Art Education Association (NAEA) Convention, March 26 – 28 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Sponsored nationally by The Council for Art Education, Youth Art Month is an annual observance, typically in March, designed to emphasize the value of art education for all youth and to encourage support for quality school art programs.

To find out more about Youth Art Month or to participate in Youth Art Month activities, contact a state chairperson, state art education association, or TheCouncil for Art Education at

The Council for Art Education (CFAE) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) association created in 1984 through The Art & Creative Materials Institute, Inc. (ACMI). ACMI seeks to promote safety in art and creative products through its certification program, and is a major sponsor of CFAE. CFAE, Council for Art Education, and Youth Art Month are trademarks of The Council for Art Education.

Congratulations to Karen and Kristy for all of their efforts and hard work!

The Governor’s Awards in Arts Education began in 1980 to promote awareness and appreciation of the arts, recognizing the creativity, talent and leadership of the award winners. Each year, awards are presented to approximately 20 educators and 80 students. National and statewide organizations select the students for their exemplary work in creative writing, speech, dance, music, theatre and visual arts and the leaders for their exceptional commitment and contribution to arts education. The program also recognizes arts educators and arts education advocates, whose leadership has helped nurture the development of students in the arts across the state.

16 Mount Bethel Road Suite 202, Warren, NJ 07059
(908) 542-9396

The Governor’s Awards event is a partnership of the Arts Ed NJ, the Department of Education, Art Pride New Jersey Foundation, the Department of State and the New Jersey State Council on the Arts. Additional support is provided by: the Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics; Art Educators of New Jersey; Art Administrators of New Jersey; Dance New Jersey; New Jersey Council of Teachers of English; New Jersey Speech and Debate League; New Jersey Music Educators Association; New Jersey Performing Arts Center; Writer's Theatre of New Jersey; Speech and Theatre Association of New Jersey; New Jersey Thespians and Young Audiences of New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania. The cooperating organizations, award sponsors and individual members of the planning council dedicate their time to make sure that excellence in the arts is rewarded, and work tirelessly throughout the year to plan this special event. The Governor's Awards in Arts Education ceremony are a major collaborative effort of the arts, education and state government.